snailspace

By snailspace

Christmas came early this year

My hens are usually highly predictable and go off-lay when they moult. We then have along "dry" period with the first eggs turning up usually on Christmas Day. Rather than buy commerical eggs, I go without if I can't source good eggs. I have some cooking to do over the next couple of weeks and so I was delighted when my friend Bill turned up in the local shop as I was queuing to pay - he had with him some free range eggs that he was delivering from his wife, Jean's flock. I baggsied a carton before they so much as reached the shelf.

When I got home, Mr L was holding this in his hand - "An egg!" he declared.

The girls may be getting on in years but clearly they are not yet ready to retire and are keener than ever this season. Either that or somebody told them I had been playing away from home...

I'm going to have to fight somebody over who gets poached egg on toast for tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.