Crash

I can't claim credit for this lovely picture of Yosemite as it's the screen background on my Mac.

Over the past week I have been on the phone and emailed Apple support several times because my new iMac keeps crashing. Several times we have thought it was fixed only to find the problem returning.

This log file shows a history of log-ins and log-outs. It also records system crashes causing reboots and when I checked it just now I was shocked to find that it has recorded no less than 28 system crashes since Friday.

After the problem re-appeared last night I contacted support again this morning and their verdict is that the hard drive has failed and they suggested a replacement iMac. Unfortunately, since it isn't the base specification that you can pick up from a store I have got to wait while they build me another one and ship it from China. Expected date of delivery is the beginning of January which ironically is when we will be out in China ourselves :-(

Luckily the whole thing is backed up so when the new one arrives it should be a simple matter to get up and running again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.