Photo a day for 2010

By kusasi

Intimate Ape

A snap of the book that arrived for me in the post today. Full of information and photographs about not just orangutans in general, but the specific people and orangutans I met ten years ago now in Tanjung Puting, Borneo. I think of this as the book I never wrote, but wish I had (had I more credentials and contacts as a naturalist, an academic, a journalist and/or a photographer, obviously ...). To read this book will explain why I still fundraise and campaign for the future of this species. Why, for example, I am going palm oil free for Lent. and why I am running the Edinburgh Marathon this year for Orangutan Land Trust

I nearly re-took this as you can clearly make out the outline of the human primate (me) and his phone in the shiny reflection of the book cover. But somehow, the idea of a human reflection when you look into the eyes of a great ape seemed somewhat appropriate. I don?t care if it's a cliché ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.