DW Creative Space

By dwcreativespace

Indecisive???

Reading up on something I've seen most of my life -- seeing sneakers strung over power and telephone wires -- I'm finding that there are a number of speculations but no actual consensus of what the real answer is.

Explanations run the gambit from gang members or drug dealers marking their territory, to people losing their virginity, to graduating seniors marking a rite of passage, and military men or women marking the end of basic training.

One of the silliest is that it's a marking for low-flying aircraft. That's just not going to happen in my neighborhood... hopefully ~;-)

Ref: http://www.snopes.com/crime/gangs/sneakers.asp

So, this ritual is what came to mind this morning when I came out and saw these sneakers sitting on the guard rail on the other side of this fence.

It makes me think that the person who left these here must have had one big fat indecisive moment about the ritual.

To mark it or not to mark it... that seems to have been the question.

Thanks for visiting.

Take care... DW

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.