The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Old stuff

I've been thinking about old stuff today. What brought this on was driving past a house I used to live in 20 years ago. It was a small tatty end of terrace tied cottage in a small Oxfordshire village (Ardington - It's lovely) with an outside toilet and a big area of rough ground we could park our cars on. It was dead cheap - £20 a week. Now its been done up and is privately owned and has a big garden (with the usual trampoline) and garages and new extra houses in the architectural vernacular and tarmac and straight lines everywhere. Quite ruined in fact.
I can't remember that much about it other than being stoned quite a lot when Wilf and Patrick lived with us. It was quite good fun I guess and probably the nearest I came to ever being a hippy.
It was another life.
I've just looked on Google earth and see that I've been looking at completely the wrong house about half a mile down the road. Funny, I'm sure we never got that stoned.

I also drove past 2 places I worked - one is now covered by a posh housing estate and the other was all locked up with a different company name stuck on the front.

And this evening I discovered Nobby Dickens on Facebook. I've not seen him since I was a teenager.

This is a DH Venom outside Grove Airfield in Oxfordshire. Never seen it before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.