KatGirl

By katgirl

The Desert

James and I went to the NY Botanical Garden's Orchid Show today. Last year, we went for my birthday and James wound up entertaining Bob while I took pictures. This year, we went while Bob was at school so that we could both shoot pictures. James was kind enough to loan me his macro lens while he used a close-up filter. This was a great opportunity for me to learn how to use the functions of my camera, as some rooms were dimmer (the rain forest) while others were brighter (the desert). I enjoyed the opportunity to take pictures of the same plant using different settings to see the effects.

The desert room is actually my favorite. I love the bright light and the different textures of the varied plants - palms, succulents, cacti, agaves, etc. I find the blossoms on desert plants to be so incredible, perhaps because such a gorgeous display is surprising to find in a harsh environment.

Another balmy day. I picked up Bob at 5pm and we went to a playground until 6:45. He wanted to crawl in to bed right after dinner after expending so much energy. I hope this spring is for real and that it doesn't snow any more....

If my hand holds up, tomorrow is clean the house day!

Here are more pictures from today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.