NCH

By NCH

The long week ends

I'm sure if I listed all the stuff that has happened this week it would tot out as being largely positive. But the minor frustrations bubbling in the background and three or four incidents that have bubbled over, have just battered me.

Some things are largely insignificant in the grand scheme of things but they all add up. The ignorant, thoughtless receptionist in the Doctor's surgery who wouldn't fucking well look at me when she was speaking to me and then when I said I couldn't hear her, looked over at some woman standing next to me and gave her a look of "is she thick or what?" before turning back to me with a patronising bitch faced smile.

Another thoughtless, ignorant not paid to think administrator who phoned me and left a message despite every form I filled in stating my mobile number was for TEXT ONLY, my disability was declared on each form and the cover letter stated that I am profoundly deaf. Then when my colleague called on my behalf to tell her to email me, she gave out confidential information over the phone. How would she appreciate that indignity being inflicted on her?

Then the big boss who doesn't 'get' equality, has been completely dismissive of that fact that when it comes to equalities, I am the expert and he should let me get on with the business of doing my job and shut up with the tokenistic, "equalities is a priority for us and we are mainstreaming it into all of our work" when his actions betray every word.

But i've had some good meetings, my friend from France has been staying for the week, I've been to see "I love you Phillip Morris", and after work me and my colleagues ended the week in pub and had a great time. Blew all the shit away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.