Raubrey

By raubrey

The Shogun Assassin

Today has been spent in my garage, painting garden furniture. They look really good, but it has severely limited my blipping opportunities.

As I was painting and my mind started to wander, it got me thinking of film remakes and wondering why there has never been a 'reimagining' of the excellent Shogun Assassinfrom the early 1980s.

Based on the Japanese Lone Wolf stories, it tells the story of a samurai (Lone Wolf) who served his Shogun faithfully and with great distinction. The Shogun became more paranoid as his lust for power grew and he sent ninjas to kill his favourite samurai. Sadly, Lone Wolf's wife was murdered instead and he was left to raise his son and wander the countryside, taking on mercenary work for money until the time would come when he can avenge his wife's murder.

You're gripped, I know.

It has probably aged badly since last I saw it last but it was hugely inventive at the time for its fight sequences and the way it had the boy narrating the tale throughout the film. The musical score was good as well.

Watching Quentin Tarantino's Kill Bill, he borrows heavily from Shogun Assassin & I am sure there is even a scene with a TV in the background that is playing the film.

This ninja 'thing' was the closest thing I could find as an image to accompany my pitch for the film.

If any other blippers have actually seen the film then I would love to hear their views and any anecdotes to go with it.

Next up, why have never made Suspira, one of the greatest horror films of all time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.