juliebee

By juliebee

Bye Bye, Broadfood

I'm ashamed to say somebody else pointed out this spelling mistake to me but it's a good 'un. This blackboard (are we still allowed to call them blackboards?) was set up to mark my territory in The Goat bar; I'd booked a bit of it for my leaving do and they brilliantly spelled Broadfoot as Broadfood. So I've killed two blip birds with one stone: a spelling mistake and a genuine diary item.

Perhaps more importantly than the enforced name change, this was all about my departure from the BBC. I've been concentrating so hard on all the excitement of my new life that I'd shut out the impending sorrow at leaving great people behind. I've worked at the BBC for nearly 12 years and 10 of those were spent in New Media (although the department has changed name four times during my stay) so it was hard to say goodbye. Having said that, it's not really sunk in yet. I really thought I'd be a lifer at the BBC but things change - I've changed and the BBC has changed - and I know I've made the right decision to go. Doesn't change the fact I'm going to miss some lovely people.

PS It's not all gushing love and positivity! There are a few people I will miss like a hole in the head but I'm not going to name names here ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.