Sunday ride

After a prolonged afternoon nap and an evening with Metallica, I was left with numb fingers yesterday. It was most enjoyable, especially given that I rarely choose metal. But then it just seemed like the day. And it did me good. Had planned for an early morning ride today, so hit the bed early after dinner.

I was going through several possible routes in my head last night but every route seemed to have its undesirable bits, which boil down to traffic, pollution, dust and potholes. Usually we tend to try and move out of the city on these rides so today I decided to do the opposite. There's this very steep incline that takes you up above a place called "Whisper valley" towards Jubilee Hills and Banjara hills. This climb would now be the toughest one I've encountered in the city. Some of the larger vehicles virtually come to a standstill at certain points. And even though I would be at my slowest, there were trucks and mini-taxis slower than I was! After the much needed freewheeling down after the "summit" (here I take some liberty to use the word), where a cycle is virtually faster than every other vehicle, I just had to get down before the next mild uphill incline arrived. Luckily I found a neat place beneath a tree. I don't think my heart has raced faster! The mind just went numb. Even if I had the strength to take the camera out of the bag, I doubt if I would have been able to click anything that made sense. So I just sat. Thirsty as I was, I had to wait for a good few minutes to have water! But with cycling, after a bit of rest, one feels as good as new and is ready to continue. Though my inexpensive MTB groaned all the way back.

I had to keep an eye on the sun and not venture too far off, since I had decided to return through the lake. Today I took all those little roads I've wanted to cycle through for a while. I don't remember the lake being as dirty as it was. Lots of construction workers have built temporary huts around it and my going to its bank turned out to be a bit of a mistake. It turned out to be the spot for their morning ablutions and the air was filled with stench! Once upon a time, the spaces between large rocks surrounding the lake were haunts for lovers but now the dirt and stink will surely drive them all away.

There is a remote possibility that I may change my shot(s) today if we are able to find time and venture out in the evening. But this was a much needed ride. And for some reason, it gave me this feeling that I have got to know the city and its roads rather well by now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.