horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Red Dawn

Okay, not quite dawn, but an early morning ride...

It's strange when you live somewhere how little you take things in. From the age of 4, until I went to study in France at 20, I lived in Ellon. A village when we first moved here north of Aberdeen, it's now a reasonable sized town, and for the first time in at least 10 years on a trip back north I went round all the old places I knew. Our first house, second (council) house, primary and secondary schools, paper round routes, and the old woods where I used to spend a huge amount of time playing.

And in all of those years playing I never once saw a red squirrel. Now I know as I kid I would have been running about making a noise, and in later years walking the dog, but you would have thought there would have been a glimpse, no matter how brief, a short flash of red. But no.

For the first time ever the drive to a big house near the secondary school, with Ellon Castle's ruins lying to the side, was open at the big gate, so I got up close to the ruins. Well... It's just one wall sort of still standing, but it overlooks some nice (inaccessible) gardens, with a Victorian style terrace overlooking.

As for everywhere else, it all basically looks the same, just a little older (naturally). It's the small tweaks that surprise. A park being laid out differently; a fence dismantled; new temporary buildings out the back of the school. Nostalgia really is about things that aren't the same anymore.

It's been a great trip back home, the best in years, what with yesterday's seals; Indian takeaway; rugby & football; and a nice ride back into my childhood, complete with red squirrels. Well worth the drive up.

The other choices:

Close up
First Sighting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.