She left me on Friday...

By DiscoDown

Knackered

An old injury seemed to be raising it's ugly head since I started running again. The pain in my shins and calf muscles was one of the reasons I stopped running last year, as I seemed to spend more time resting and icing my legs than I did actually running. With each run this week (all short runs at a pretty slow pace, and on a sprung treadmill) the pain has gradually increased. I woke on Wednesday morning to quite bad pain so I phoned the physio for an appointment.

He did a pretty thorough examination and seemed confident that I didn't have shin splints (phew, good news). He thinks I actually have Compartment Syndrome (oh shit). He seems to think that he can sort it out with physiotherapy, although he readily admits that very few other people think this is possible. I'm making an appointment with my GP on Monday but I'm not expecting good news. I've spoken to a few other runners who have had this problem and my symptoms match up with theirs. One of them had to get surgery (which is, apparently, the only actual cure for the problem) and was out of running for quite a while. Bearing in mind my current level of fitness, and the time I'd need to get in shape for the marathon, it doesn't look like I'll be running in New York this year again unless my physio can work some sort of magic.

I'm a bit pissed off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.