Kamran

By kamran

Mariam gets married

My first wedding shooting

One important thing in my todo list for Pakistan trip was to attend the marriage of Mariam taking place in Multan city. Mariam was my student for 4 semesters when I was lecturer in a computer science college in Multan from 2001 to 2002. She was a brilliant student, very obedient and intellectual. The most interesting thing about her wedding was that Mariam got married with one of my best friends Alvi. I know Alvi for 11 years. We were class mates in B.Sc and shared the same apartment for 4 years. I have learnt a lot from Alvi, he is my idol. He has been there when I was passing through extremely bad patches.

I was very excited when I heard Mariam and Alvi were getting married. I think they are the best couple in the world. I was lucky that I was given the sole responsibility of shooting their wedding. My job started with Mehndi (Henna) ceremony which is quite a colorful event that takes place at bride's place one night before the wedding. I really enjoyed being there.

Some shots from Rasm-e-Mehndi:

* Arrival of Mariam
* Little girls bringing Henna
* Four classmates and my students: Asma, Mariam, Hania and Sana. I met them all after 4 years
* Mariam with friends
* Girls singing
* Dancing 1, 2, 3
* Bride on dance

Some shots from the wedding cermony are:

* Ready for Reception
* Doodh Pilai Rasm: bride and groom share a glass of milk. Groom has to pay huge amount of money to bride's friends in return.
* Bride's feet
* My group picture with the married couple
* Under the shade of Holy Quran, bride departs with groom
* Ready to leave, bride in car


Mariam and Alvi, my heartiest congratulations to both of you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.