Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

The family of 6 on the beach

Just a brief link to some favourites from today's shoot...utterly gorgeous family.. gorgeous light. Yes, I changed my Blip (it's hard to steer away from the boys as subjects but I find looking at this shot very uplifting! But I wanted something that worked better with the whole Blip365).

* * *

There's a beautiful park, laden with accessible climbing frames, swings and sand spilling onto the real beach beyond. You learn not to love the beach too much when you live with a trachestomy. That, along with water, are big no nos. Oh how I'll relish that first swim with Reu. It can only live up to every day I've bestowed upon it.

Yet today, we couldn't resist the beach. There's a hazy glow over Los Angeles from the marine layer, and the 25,000 runners of the LA Marathon would have been glad of it. And whilst Reuben played with Jason in the park, since Callum had fallen into such a deep slumber in the backseat, I sat there with him and just took a few deep breaths.

It was good practice, fiddling around with the metering and seeing what sort of a difference it would make on consecutive shots, then the white balance under what I thought was tricky light but turned out to be delightful, for the late afternoon, lazy shoot at the beach with the gorgeous Carlson family, two boys, two girls. Is that not utter perfection! Daddy was making me laugh getting the kids to watch the f stop changes through the lens. A new perspective. They too have been, and continue to be, on an incredible journey with their daughter. And for all of us, navigating the laggard runners and the 25,000 others and their families, made me think that perhaps a shoot on Marathon day ending in Santa Monica wasn't the best plan. Yet that said, as I begin to process the pictures tonight, I'm so glad we did shoot today. We had a hoot!

I need help in choosing the best for an album cover. These are some of the 1000 shots.

I'm so happy about the fact people I've never met before, only through Blogland and beyond would want me to capture their precious moments. If you're reading Carlsons, Thank you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.