oíste

By eh7

A Private Celebration

Three years ago today I arrived on the Iberian peninsula after what can only be considered an unsuccessful fling in the Far East. I came here with no expectations other than a recovery from a bout of pneumonia and an unsettling depression. To that end the experience has been a success but so much more to boot. I´ve continued working as an English language teacher, predominantly to business types, and consider myself none to shabby at the task. Some days are better than others but I´m not alone there. I´ve grasped the language to the degree that when I was confronted by a pair of coppers while taking this shot I could explain myself and leave them reassured that I was not there to add top secret locations to Google Maps.

I´ve not hankered after home the way I did out in China and I´ve adopted a fairly healthy lifestyle in contrast to the beer, whisky, Greggs and chips fuelled diet I all too readily followed.

The downside is losing touch with some good friends back home but that´s something I have to live with, I´ve always been that way. Out of sight, out of mind? Not quite, but long-distance relationships have never been fruitful in my experience; this blip malarkey is probably suffering the symptoms of my syndrome too, three years and I haven´t yet got to 365 and to be honest I don´t have a great deal of work on here to write home about. Too often, I just snap for the sake of it, commenting seems unsubstantial and gets my goat, ruffles my feathers, et al.

I´ve experienced sadness and death and life and joy. The major plus is that I´ve met the girl I want to spend my life with which scares the buggery out of me but makes me enormously happy.

Onwards and upwards compañeros.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.