family, friends & work

By camf

Essentials

After a long day in my kitchen sitting at the laptop rewriting a screenplay, I needed to get out.

A wander up town led me to Cafe Rouge, a regular venue for meeting other writers, actors, producers, etc. It's by no means my favourite Edinburgh cafe... it's just handy and there's usually plenty space. A glass of red wine, my phone, a notebook and my very nice but unreliable Cross fountain pen in its fancy leather case were laid out in front of me and seemed emblematic of how I spend most of my time.

I think Moleskine notebooks are overpriced for what they are, but happily I seem to regularly receive these as a Christmas or birthday regular gift. The one pictured is the storyboarding version which I just use as a diary/notebook. My efforts at storyboarding are usually greeted with hoots of derisive laughter. But that's fair enough... I freely admit I'm rubbish at drawing.

I'm hoping my little Panasonic Lumix will save me from ever having to do any more humiliatingly bad drawings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.