Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

Ro-Ro

This sculpture is called "Ro-Ro", and was created by the Glasgow artist George Wylie, whilst working with pupils at Campeltown High School. It is positioned on the harbour in Campeltown in the Mull of Kintyre.
I knew the name George Wylie, and tried to find out about him today. I know that he is quite a bolshie person, and is unafraid to speak his mind on all sorts of topics. He once launched a giant paper boat on the Clyde to sympbolise the death of the shipbuilding industry on the Clyde. I think I would like the man, if I met him.
Ro-Ro may have other meanings in terms of this piece, but I have been unable to find anything about this work in particular. Ro-Ro does mean "Roll on/Roll off", which is the type of ferry we use in Scotland to visit the islands.
The ship is Viking and I don't know if this is symbolic or not.
It would be good if any blippers out there could add to the story.
Anyway, I loved this sculpture, and against the blue seemed to really strong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.