talk2me

By talk2me

again...

in the same spot as the night before... the same visual but, different.
I was different. I had spent the day with my mother who, in spite of a coma shared unspoken love from all around her. As we related quiet stories to her, she let us know she heard all. Subtle eye movements replaced her dialogue.
Hearing is said to stay with someone to the very end of life in cases like these. We told her of many adventures we had loved about life with her over the years. I thought about her teaching us all of our favorite recipes for Svenska dishes and baked delights. Tack själv mycket, Mama
Her respiration was shallow... and rose and fell in a crescendo-decrescendo manner accented by apnea. A deeper gasp and she returned... another night to wonder

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.