My Photographic Footprint

By Theodora8

It Needs Help

I went to view the Wild House today.
The road was closed for some reason, so I waited for the estate agent in a silent street, for quite a long time. It felt like a western.
Some other people were due to view too, so I was not under pressure. (Not having £1.4M to my name).
He had no keys to the gates, so we all climbed over. He said with charm, that no one prepeared to take on this property would do so if they could not climb over a fence. (No mantion of being 20 minutes late).
I had been longing to see inside this old Hall (as it turned out it was) for years, and knew it was a toss up between a buggered up one and a charmer.
The agent told us a story of trusts, women on the wrong side of blankets, Coutts Bank, and so on. Good stuff. The RNA might like this story.
The other people looking round were local too, and had another version, a woman and her nephew, not daughter. It was all really riveting.
But sadly the story was better than the house. The people who had lived in it had done so with no money, and it showed. The love child had been handed a house in trust, and left to get on with it.
I think the rough side of the Grundies from the 50's/60's would about describe it. Wild horsey territory. I am not a tidy housekeeper by any stretch of the imagination, but even I was taken aback (and fascinated) by the swathes of webs, delapidation and general chaos. One wardrobe had a loo stashed in it. Why?
That is not what matters with a building of course. But this dear house has been unloved. It needs a billionaire to get to grips with it.

There are stables, which are tidier than the house, masses of huge buildings and land, it will be great for someone, with vision and money.
The agent kept telling us of the 'Polo People' from Ascot who are interested. Let's hope they breath it back to life.

I handed back the colourful brochure (with no interior shots) and said I thought my friend who might have been interested was not young enough to take it on. And came back to my dry little cottage with a sense of relief.

They really should have a sort of RSPCA for old buildings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.