nina54

By nina

Afternoon Poetry

In the city of my youth
From morning to evening, a summer
From evening to morning, a spring:
A night in May.
In the morning dawn, I meet a girl with tresses
running down the road to the lake.
It all is glimmering, glittering,
and out there dark islands.
The open lake looming in blue, the water reflecting
endlessly, in my childhood -
where beauty is an everyday thing with no name.

Lassi Nummi 1992

I had most honorable guests today: Pirkko and Lassi Nummi. Lassi Nummi is one of the most famous writers and poets in Finland. I have known this lovely couple since two years, since I had a postcard project with Lassi. I have visited Pirkko and Lassi quite often and today they came to us for some afternoon coffee.

Lassi brought me one of his poem books, and read aloud some poems for me. How kind of him! I felt very moved by his gesture. We had a lovely afternoon conversation about many interesting topics. But the best was to hear Lassi read his poems, I enjoyed them so much, specially to hear the right emphasis on them. Thank you both, Pirkko and Lassi!

In this shot Lassi reads the poem that is in this blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.