this luminous life.

By Laura

alternate: runway!

Today, I ran into Lake Michigan in freezing temperatures.
I raised money for the Chicago Special Olympics.
It. Was. Awesome.

Kyle mentioned to me last month that he?s always wanted to do the polar plunge but never tried or had the motivation to do it. Being a 'graduate' of Denison University's famous Naked Week (meaning I?ve been outside with little clothing in freezing temperatures before), I realized that I wouldn't mind doing it myself, as long as I wasn?t doing it alone. I looked up the polar plunge online and found that Chicago hosts a few different plunges during the winter. Most of them had passed but there was still one left in early March, benefitting the Chicago Special Olympics. Perfect! It was an opportunity coming soon that we could grab and it benefited a population that I plan to work with for most of my life. I quickly set up our fundraising pages, shared the links with friends and co-workers, and got the ball rolling. There was no turning back now. I was in. We were in.

And we did it.

I'm definitely going to try to do it again next year! :)

__________
a year ago: Charlie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.