Pepper, senior chicken

This is Pepper. She has been around at least 8 years. She is very old for a chicken and I am concerned that this will be her last summer. She is wise, generous to the other hens and was quite a daredevil when younger (she would leap onto a hot barbecue grill, steal what was being grilled and run off, wings flapping). Now she likes to sleep in the sun and take dust baths. She gave up laying eggs several years ago. She is a black giant by breed. I feel a lot weird that I have more pictures of chickens than my granddaughter this month.

Today I give thanks for my day, time with the baby, the new solar tubes the renovators put in today, and that tomorrow is finely almost here, which means that the doctor's visit that will resolve many issues and worries (I hope), will finally happen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.