Life Inspired

By inspiredesigns

My 30's

When I was 19, I was invited to a gathering of women artists most of whom I didn't even know. I was shy and had no confidence, but I adored my pottery instructor (she invited me) so I went.

As we were sitting, and I was sitting by complete strangers by the way, the woman to my right turned to me and said, "You will be the most beautiful 30 year old woman."

At the time, my 19 year old brain immediately thought "What am I not beautiful now??" I smiled and thanked her for her kind comment which has lingered with me now for 15 years.

I've avoided cameras most of my adult life, as I can't remember a photo I've actually liked. I'm sure we can always find something wrong with our photos, but I have always envied those who find pleasure in being in front of the camera.

When I turned 30, I looked in the mirror and thought....that lady was crazy. I don't look any different than I did 11 years ago. But as the years have gone by, I have sort of grown into my own skin. I am proud of my features and actually spot the beauty that a complete stranger warned me about.

So I actually managed to catch my own reflection this evening on my way in from work. Again, a reflection in the man-van, but a little of me....even though there is a bucket in my face. haha

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.