John Van de Graaff

By VandeGraaff

Rain at the Pompidou

Today saw on-and-off rain in Paris, including reportedly thunder and lightning in our area. As I arrived at the Pompidou Center (the modern art museum built a few decades ago in the area of the Les Halles market which had been razed) it was really coming down. There was plenty of shelter under the edge of the building, and I turned to blip the action--for some reason everyone was looking at me (and ignoring the bottle!). The Atelier Brancusi is on the right and one set of the huge exhaust/intake vents for the structure is in the background.

In the museum I visited an exhibition of paintings by Lucian Freud--an English realist painter, grandson of Sigmund Freud, now 87 but still going strong. I also saw part of the permanent collection (1900-1945) which had just been rehung. Another jewel among Paris's many museums--the view from the top (6th floor) is spectacular.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.