Moments

By togrrrl

Power and Privilege

Imagine an empty room high over the city with a molded gilt plaster ceiling, 20 foot high walls, a black and red checked marble floor and sunlight streaming in from the floor to ceiling french doors lining the walls.

Imagine a tiny marble bathroom, the toilet throne beside another floor to ceiling window overlooking the city and the lake.

Imagine the kind of person that would have this beautiful room built for himself, then decide that it wasn't needed and leave it unused.

I suppose that's power. And it's certainly privilege.

But I was privileged also today.

I was privileged to be taken to this beautiful room by my friend M. because he thought I would like to take pictures of the view.

I was privileged that M. shared his private love for this place, how he comes here to escape, to sit on that throne and look out over the city, to watch storms and blizzards swirling around.

I was privileged to have time with my son tonight. We went out for dinner and he talked and talked and I got to know him a whole lot better.

I feel grateful. I hope this feeling will last for a while!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is Toronto's City Hall from the secret room - another place of power.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.