No Domestic Goddess...

By NotNigella

The Final Hours...

It's the very last day of production at Port Dundas Distillery today - the last of the spirit will be off the continuous Coffey stills later today and they will be switched off for good in the wee small hours of tomorrow morning. I was a little bit sad earlier at work, it's just weird to think that the place will be completely silent when I'm back in on Wednesday. I opened one of the on-line mash-log files before I left, and one of the boys has put a big solid line under the final mash, and underneath that has typed 'End Of PD, End Of An Era' and so I had a little bubble to myself when I read that. Even sadder if you know that it's Port Dundas Distillery's 200th anniversary this year - the year they chose to close it down and demolish it.

Anyway, this picture is probably going to be one of the very last pictures taken of the huge chimney on the distillery site while still in use - it's a bit of a landmark on the horizon (but not for much longer!).

At home now relaxing with the family (of sorts -wee C and wee D are constantly bickering with each other!). Looking forward to my Sunday dinner, husband has got everything organised while I've been at work, yay! And then I'll be having a wee drink to toast the end of the distillery and all the fantastic people who work there with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.