ATLANTIC

An all to brief visit to the north west coast on a day of bracing wind and occasional sunshine. Food for the heart and soul. Always when I'm this wonderful area of our world as I look over the Atlantic I reminded myself of the great work of Sorley Maclean GAELIC POET Here's one I'd like to share with you.


IRISLEACHD

Mar riustam'irisleachd
co-ionan ri m' uaill
argus tha m' umlachd is m' ardan
'nan ceol-gaire buan.
......
.......

Fhuar mi fhaisge tha a' chomhail
a rinn cor mo reis
is dhiuchd barr-guc m' anama
bho arraban 'na leig


HUMILITY

With you my humility
is equal to my pride
and my submission and pride
are a permanent laughter-music.

Prostrate at your feet
my spirit is on high tip-toe
and my mind's pain and unrest
as an impetuous serene repose

And with you the meeting
that I have with myself
is as near as my heart's marrow
when it goes on a far of-peak.

I have burst from the husk
which my life's condition imposed
and my spirt's blossom has come
out of distress adamant.

By complete contrast - and from another culture - a not unrelated song

Hope you enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.