Through my lens, Willis

By Willis

Palm Sunday

A Palm Sunday composite that was made from 7 shots. The main 5 were the wicker pot, green leaf, candle holder, rear table highlight and the palm itself. I then traced the palm's outline onto a piece of black foamcore. I cut out the tracing and used it as a block for the flames. I took 2, 15 second exposures of the outline with me holding a small butane torch which I use for field shrinking of heat shrinkable tubing. With the cutout foamcore between me and the camera I traced the outline of the foamcore with the torch. One frame I did the left side then the other on the second shot.

From there it was a matter of loading all the pieces into Photoshot and blending them together. It was great fun for a rainy afternoon.

Congratulations to Jenson Button for winning the Australian Grand Prix...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.