Upturned

I popped out for a bit of shopping while Carl slaved away over a hot stove and produced a lovely brunch (mackerel - oily fish, recommended as part of my diet - with scrambled eggs). My car's developed a bit of a slow puncture, so I first went up the road to Dalkey to put some much-needed air in it, then made my way back to Glasthule via Bullock Harbour. There wasn't as much activity as I'd expected, and most of the boats which normally fill the harbour were laid out neatly alongside the road rather then in the water. Still too early in the year, I guess, even if it is now officially Summertime.

I got back just in time for the re-run of the Australian Grand Prix. After the massive bore we endured from Bahrain two weeks ago, this race gave Formula 1 a chance to redeem itself, which it did in fine stye. A combination of a decent track and slightly dodgy weather conditions (will it or won't it rain?) seemed to be all that was needed to result in lots of excitement, and enough overtaking and incident as anyone could wish for. Once again I was disappointed for Sebastian Vettel. It certainly looks as if Red Bull need to improve their reliabaility. As for Vettel's team mate Mark Webber, his home crowd were served up equal doses of cheers and groans, with the gutsy Aussie blotting his copybook towards the very end of the race by making contact with Lewis Hamilton and only finishing ninth. Apart from race-winner Jenson Button, Robert Kubica was definitely my driver of the day.

One recorded episode of Ballykissangel followed the motor racing, and I was back in my own place around 4.30.

p.s. I've boozily back-blipped yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.