Mo

By Mo

The yolk's on me

One of my tasks today was to go to Costco and buy the prizes for the school Readathon. £200 worth of Easter eggs seems like a fair price to pay for almost £10K funds raised for the school library.

Anyway, it's too close to Easter now for a cash & carry to be holding much stock (yes, I am trained in fmcg marketing, honest, but we didn't know what prizes we'd need until Friday). So I went further along the supply chain (see!) to Sainsbury's and got the job finished there.

After going round Costco with ridiculous amounts of confectionery, I didn't feel too strange in Sainsbury's with 81 medium sized Easter eggs and a coriander plant. But the other customers' reactions were interesting. A lot of women stared but said nothing: some looked embarrassed as though they thought I had an eating disorder. I realised afterwards that it was only the men who indulged in merry banter, along the lines of "you've got a big family" and "is it Easter then?".

There is no truth whatsoever in the rumours that I was stocking up for a forthcoming visit from a fellow Blipper. Although she might get some coriander.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.