This is how we do it

By michlan

Clocking off

We visited a local painting society show recently. It's the third year running that we've been, and have bought a number of paintings by local artists over the last two years. I love the idea of having an original piece of art on my wall; it's a nice feeling knowing that the painting you have is a one-off. I love thinking about the skill and time that went into producing it, the ideas the artist had, the decisions on paint colours, layout, the whole creative process, really. Maybe it's because I'm creative myself, I don't know. I just appreciate it more perhaps.

When we were at the art show, I saw this painting and just fell in love with it. I just loved the simple colours and the feeling of tranquility. I thought it was beautiful. The problem is that we have so many paintings now, we are running out of places to hang them at home and I just resigned myself to the fact that we didn't have room. The next day, DH popped out. When he returned, he had this beautiful painting with him. He'd bought it for me as a surprise.

Needless to say we've found a place for it here at home. And I love it. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.