DW Creative Space

By dwcreativespace

Spillage

No other image I can make today will top this one nor the story that comes with it.

Around 11:00 AM, I hear the truck come around the corner. They're coming to pick up waste materials from the back of the restaurant that sits in front of my house. I don't pay too much attention. I've seen it all before.

What happens next should be in a movie.

The guy gets back in his truck and starts heading up the hill. The weight of the barrels slows him down so he has to give a little gas to start up. Just as he does, a couple of barrels slide toward the back of the truck and knock together with other barrels already there.

I look up in time to see the truck nudge forward a little bit as a result of the driver making a REALLY bad decision to nudge the gas again in an effort to get up the hill.

Two more barrels knocked into the stand of barrels and they all came tumbling off the back of the truck!

At first it was REALLY funny. I had the sense to stop gaping and grab my camera. I couldn't grasp what I was seeing. It was one of those things you see happening but you don't grasp it until it's all done.

So after sitting in his truck dead still for about 5 minutes, the driver finally got out and what happened next was also REALLY funny.

When he finally came out of the truck, the driver started doing a running commentary on what had happened talking to the barrels, the gate on the truck, himself, the oil slithering out of the barrels onto my flooded street and then finally took out his phone can called someone.

What followed after that was a goat rodeo.
-- Scraps of meat refuse getting wetter and wetter.
-- Slicks of oil running through the street and eventually into my basement.
-- The fire department arriving to check out the basement.
-- Two wet-vac trucks sucking up the brown sludge.
-- The wet-vac guy falling in puddles trying to get his hose to reach the slicks.

Almost three hours later, they're still out there wet vacuuming the street. Who knows when things will get quiet again and it will be just another rainy day.

Dear Universe,
Thanks for the photo op and entertainment today on what was turning out to be a dreary, rainy day. One thing though... I wonder what that guy did to have this happen to him. Guess it's not for me to worry about.

Like I said, no other image today will beat this so I'm done for today.

Thanks for stopping by.

Take care... DW

PS... more images here...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.