Out Like A Lion

Another drizzly, rainy day. According to the news, the rivers still haven't crested and will be at flood stage for another two days. Roads are closed, dams have broken, people's belongings have been moved from their basements to their soggy front lawns. The governor has declared another state of emergency, which comes as no surprise if you see these pictures. We've once again been very fortunate, but I feel for those people who have just not been able to catch a break this past month.

This is the barn of a neighbor up the street. The fire pond* in the foreground is usually much smaller, and there is a driveway between it and the barn. I drove by today and saw a male wood duck perched on one of the rocks. I don't see too many of them around here, and I think they're just gorgeous. Obviously, he swam away from me and I didn't have the best lens for photographing him, but I ended up kind of liking the reflections of the trees and red barn. He's there in the picture, though. (You can also see him in the biggified version.)



*A fire pond is a small man-made pond used by the fire department in the event of a fire. We don't have city water or fire hydrants.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.