* p h o n e d i n *

By PhonedIn

Interpretation

I had no time today for photos.

Lunchtime was spent with a friend at a camera shop (he eventually bought the Canon 7D, I thought it very pretty). I went straight from work to the cinema (my Friday night tradition) to see 'Remember Me', and from there to Illegal Jacks for some food (where i encountered some not very tasty fajitas).

I'd have liked to have taken a shot of the cinema crowd a la Diane Arbus (which would not have worked so well in a modern non-smoking cinema anyway so just as well I was too embarrassed to do so) but in the end this shot had to do, taken in my 5 minutes of outdoor alone time today waiting for a friend to disembark a bus.

Actually, I do kind of like the words if not so much the photo. My first reaction when i saw it was to sing (in my head!) the song that has these words (or rather, the words 'how low can you go") in it. But then it made me think about the state of the world, and about just how low we might go. And that made me sad.

Fortunately any further philosophical wonderings were interrupted by the arrival of my cinema/dinner buddies and I forgot about the sign until now.

SPOILER AHEAD!

It does tie up with the twist at the end of the film though - the main character was just starting to get his life together when he finds himself at his dad's building awaiting his father's arrival. As the camera pans out, we start to realise he's standing at the top of one of the twin towers, and we know it's Sept 11 2001. It was an unusual and actually very powerful ending to what I'd originally thought was going to be a fairly normal teenage angst film. It's left me a little frightened actually - I have so many plans for the future that I don't want my life to end suddenly, unexpectedly. I guess that's why you have to make sure you value every single day you have.

To sum up, a busy but nice day spent with friends, with a couple of scary mental wanderings at 5pm and 11pm re: the cruelty of humans and the fragility of life. It's good to be reminded every now and again to live in the moment and value what you have!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.