Retirement in Montana

By tomtaylor

My special treasures

These are a few "things" that I have become attached to. They are in a shadow box table and sit in our bedroom.

The baby shoes belonged to my daughter Tina. They were her first pair of shoes when she started walking at 9 months. She was so tiny that she would walk right under the dining room table and not even be close to hitting her head. I loved watching my kids grow from babies to adults. I would do it a million times again if I could.

The eye glasses belonged to my dad. I always remember him wearing glasses and when he was gone during World War II, my mom had a picture of him with these glasses on. When he came home, my sister and I were at Sunday school and mom came to pick us up with a man in the car. I was 4 years old when he left and 6 when he came home so I didn't remember too much of him. Well, this stange man in the car with my mom didn't have glasses on and I wanted to know who he was. I think that day, I didn't make too many points with my father.

The hankies were given to our mom on Mother's Day by my sister and I. She kept them all these years.

The ladies watch was given to me by my mom and dad for Christmas when I was 16. That was one gift I didn't find when I went on my hunt for gifts at Christmas time. It must have been in a really good hiding place. Unfortunately, I still snoop (opening a wrapped gift and then re-wrapping it). That Christmas was the first time I remember hugging my folks and they hugged me back. That was a good Christmas.

The two men's watches were my dad's as were the rings.

My trinkets aren't worth alot of money but they sure have a special place in my shadow box table.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.