Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

Squabbling Starlings

Today, the sun can't decide whether or not it should put in an appearance. I happened to capture this shot during one of the greyer spells this morning. In spite of the starling being in a pretty poor plight nationally, we seem to be blessed with considerable numbers in our neighbourhood. As soon as a good meal is offered, they'll be amongst the first to appear.

I was tempted to post a grey-scale version, given the nature of the weather and the obvious conflict in the picture until I looked more closely and could see the iridescence in the starlings feathers. Both purple and green abound around its head and chest.

Colour is a good thing of course and as I finish writing this blip, the golden sun is shining brightly against a leaden sky, illuminating the foreground like a stage. I hope you enjoy it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.