Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Glasgow School of Art

167 Renfrew Street, Garnethill, Glasgow, designed by Charles Rennie Mackintosh. Locally known as the "Mac" or "Mac School". Built between 1897-1909. It is probably Mackintosh's most famous building. The city centre was heaving with shoppers today - it was much quieter up Dalhousie Street, only a few students around. Good to have a few minutes here - one of my favourite places in the city.

I really like the contrast between the north elevation and this striking piece of graffiti art by Estum at the entrance to one of the other campus buildings across the road.

Part of my reason for coming here today was to think about Hilary. She studied here for four years and created some amazing sculptures and drawings. I remember visiting her as she worked in her studio and being so impressed with her degree show.

My link a year ago - the flowers at her grave.

S

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.