Emily L. J. Boyd

By eljb

Focus...

At the end of high school, when I was going through a rough patch and was particularly depressed, my mum came home and handed me a paper bag. In the paper bag was a faceted crystal hanging below a cut out of a dragon and a red lampwork bead she'd got at a shop in town.

She told me to hang it in my window and then when the light came through it, it would cast rainbows into my bedroom and cheer me up. And dutifully it does.

I took a photo through it today because I'm having a bad day. Having a bad few days. My earache & subsequent headache has returned and my confidence in my work is at a serious low. Things in my head are a little distorted, just like the garden through the prism.

I saw it casting rainbows on my wall and then I noticed that I could almost see the trees branches through it. Almost, but not completely. Just like the ideas in my head. Last night I was trying to think of a way I could depict designers block. I guess this kind of works.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.