DW Creative Space

By dwcreativespace

Prevailing Winds

As I walked up to the beach to take a walk early this morning, I noticed the wonderful smell of the sea and thought of how much I loved it. It was a peaceful walk with the sea gulls, my favorite walking tunes and that briney cool smell of the ocean.

The sea breeze was blowing just slightly but it wasn't until later I realized what the direction it was coming from meant for the rest of my day.

Around 8:30 AM, the wood-burning brick ovens fired up at the pizza joint in front of me. The prevailing winds... east to west... started blowing in the smell of a house on fire eliminating the pleasant smell of the sea and killing the "buzz" of my morning walk.

The ovens were installed last year and caused a real "stink" between folks in my neighborhood, the city and the restaurant owner. The prevailing winds blew nasty smoke into my apartment every day for three months when they finally changed in June.

Over the summer, I was lulled because the smoke went away. I forgot about the springtime prevailing winds and enjoyed this morning with the pleasant smell of the ocean during my walk.

At 8:30, I was reminded that now that these ovens exist, the buds of spring will be accompanied by the prevailing winds bringing in not only the smell of the sea but also the "scent" of houses on fire.

Thanks for stopping by.

Take care... DW

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.