Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Crossbow practice?

I walked as far as my dream house today -- a $1.9 million mansion close to Five Points in Riverside. The property has been on the market since I moved to Jacksonville in the fall of 2007. During that time I have not managed to win the Lottery and so make my dreams come true.

The house stands at the corner of Copeland Street and Oak Street. My hometown of Stoke-on-Trent, England, had a Copeland Street, named after William Copeland, the pottery manufacturer. So the house has an appeal for another reason.

After gazing longingly at the house, I turned the corner into Oak Street, where the house has a side entrance that is accessed by a flight of steps with two stone pillars either side. These pillars are topped with a stone decoration, which I am unsure as to how to describe.

I was slightly taken aback when I saw that someone had placed an apple on top of the left hand ornamental decoration. Who? Why? I don't know. But it put me in mind of William Tell, the Swiss medieval hero who split an apple, placed on his son's head, with a bolt fired from his crossbow.

Perhaps some Riverside resident has something similar in mind and has been putting in a bit of practice.

From my point of view, I knew I had my photo for today.

Zeiss Planar T* ZE 1,4/50.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.