Plus ça change...

By SooB

Who's been planting in my garden?

The long and tedious journey from East Lothian snowscapes to sunny Catalonia is over. What a day. After two nights of not really sleeping due to the terror that was to come driving round the Barcelona ring road, I gave up any pretence at sleep at 4am. Packed the car, gave the kids breakfast and headed off to face the weather. Remarkably normal journey to Newcastle, so we were an uncharacteristic 2 hours early for the flight.

Some shenanigans at the car hire desk in Barcelona left me with a much better car than I should have had, and off we headed. I'm never really going be much good at changing gears in cars, but seemed to manage ok, and the terrifying Ronda de Dalt was less so when I realised that the heavy traffic meant no-one was going faster than 60kmph so it was fine to just sit in the outside lane and drift along.

Lovely to arrive in Ceret - even if it was to race around local tax offices, banks, shops etc before finally getting to our house. All was well, apart from a water leak in the meter (more on this tomorrow) and these surprise additions to the garden. Perhaps I planted them once? It is a while since we've been here in spring. Anyway, a welcome addition.

And an early night - I was asleep at 8pm when Mr B called to check we'd arrived safely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.