Dorking to Haydon's Road

Fred convinced me to go on a cycling adventure by promising tea stops whenever we saw the opportunity - we weren't disappointed. Our first stop was immediately after Dorking when we spied Denbigh Vineyards. It would have been rude to cycle past, so we popped in for a snack and to see the sculpture exhibition. I also said hello to my friend's mum who I'd never met before, but whom I knew worked in the gift shop and she looks just like my friend so there was no mistaking her.

Then onwards via quiet, leafy roads with pheasants (and one dead badger), horses, stables a-plenty, muddy bridleways that clogged up our bicycles (well, mine, since Fred lifted his over all the mud). A fine cup of builder's tea was had overlooking the racecourse at Epsom Downs, and a herbal tea was sipped at Oaks Park. We followed the River Wandle to Merton Abbey Mills, and from there it was a only short run to the station at Haydon's Road where we caught a train home.

I pushed the bike up only two hills.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.