Bang!

I noticed yesterday that something was afoot at the galleries complex on the Mound; there was a load of workies busy erecting little white tents, and a group of them with some heavy machinery setting to work on some sort of larger tent-like structure. I wasn't sure what it was at the time, however a wander past the gallery at lunch time has revealed it to be part of the Sciene Festival, and in particular, part of the BBC's "Bang Goes the Theory" event.

I had actually seen the BBC's truck (emblazoned with the "Bang..." logo) this morning, however I hadn't put two and two together (it was pre-morning-coffee after all). To be honest, I hadn't paid the science festival much attention until I overhead some folk in the office talking about a lecture that Marcus du Sautoy is giving. A quick Google later reveals that he is indeed giving a talk on the "Number Mysteries", the same subject as his Christmas Lectures a few years back. Now all I need to do is convince mrs monochrome to ditch the wee man with a baby-sitter for a couple of hours so that we can sit and listen to a talk on prime numbers! Geek-tastic!

After yesterday's "Let there be light" blip, we were indeed treated to some amazing light this morning. I took a wee stroll through Princes Street Gardens on the way to work and rattled off a hand-full of photos, before heading for an un-authorised Starbucks on the way to the office.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.