mrs monochrome

By mrsmonochrome

2 days old

My poor wee sausage got jaundice a day and half after he was born and needed to go under the UV light for 12 hours. It was such a distressing time for me and yet it seems so insignificant now. At the time it was horrible. On the Thursday morning I just couldn't get Aidan to wake up properly, he would open his eyes for a second and shut them again. I tried and tried to get him to feed and he just kept sleeping. At around 11am the midwife took Aidan away and did blood tests and it turned out his jaundice was quite bad. He went under the UV light at 3pm and they took him out at 3am, checking on him every couple of hours during this time. He also had another 2 sets of blood tests. He still has a wee bump on one of his hands nearly 6 months later.

He was at my bedside the whole time and most of the time he was screaming, getting dehydrated I think. I was allowed to change his nappy and feed but I had to try and keep him under the light as much as possible. I don't think the other mum's on the ward appreciated me crying all night but I hope they understood.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.