OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Ceramic Insulators

I've seen quite a lot of pottery on this site, so here are some ceramics!

My house in Kirkwall faces Wideford Hill, yet I hadn't climbed it until today. I suppose the fact that it is festooned with radio masts, telecommunications towers etc had made it unattractive. But today, I thought I'd remedy this, and had a very nice walk. Partly it was because I found an off-road route through a young wood in Muddisdale.Planted only in 2000, the trees are pretty small but were already attracting small birds.

On the hill I watched a clan of 25 ravens and saw a pair have nested behind the dish on one of the towers. Nearby I found these old ceramic insulators. I thought that they look like modernistic jewelry or neolithic fetish objects. I was quite tempted to take them home as they're abandoned, but thought that I should leave them where they are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.