Murder Most Fowl

This photo was hastily taken in the second after a hawk swooped down upon a plump wood pigeon.


I'm sorry about the terrible quality - but I just had to grab the nearest camera and take this shot. I recall mentioning having seen this to someone recently and to see it again was quite amazing!


It brought to mind this poem:



Hawk Roosting


I sit in the top of the wood, my eyes closed.

Inaction, no falsifying dream

Between my hooked head and hooked feet:

Or in sleep rehearse perfect kills and eat.

The convenience of the high trees!

The air's buoyancy and the sun's ray

Are of advantage to me;

And the earth's face upward for my inspection.

My feet are locked upon the rough bark.

It took the whole of Creation

To produce my foot, my each feather:

Now I hold Creation in my foot

Or fly up, and revolve it all slowly -

I kill where I please because it is all mine.

There is no sophistry in my body:

My manners are tearing off heads -

The allotment of death.

For the one path of my flight is direct

Through the bones of the living.

No arguments assert my right:

The sun is behind me.

Nothing has changed since I began.

My eye has permitted no change.

I am going to keep things like this.


by
Ted Hughes.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.