You're never as happy as your saddest child...

I think I actually read that on here sometime and it rings so true and became so relevant last night.

Really given the nature of kids being kids, it is highly probable that blood spillage happens at some point in the first 5 years but that assumption in no way prepared me or MrsTFP for it.

Last night Bethany was running towards the back door when she tripped and squarely hit the the bottom step. When she did it I saw it was possible she'd hit the step but it wasn't until I picked her up and the blood started that it turned out she hit it and cut her bottom lip and hit her teeth.

Long and short of it is that we drove straight up to the hospital and got it assessed and cleaned up. She's cut her bottom lip which is very swollen and loosened a tooth but appart from that, unscathed. She's not managed to eat anything yet but she has been incredibly brave about it. she even helped me clean this up off the steps this morning in her jammies and wellies.

I tell you, seeing that amount of blood coming out of your own child is truely frightening and it took both of us several hours to come down from it. Still gives me shudders writing about it now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.