Sketch for summer

Mist in the sun on the River Avon this morning.

<Instrumental>

Sketch for Summer
Duritti Column

I came across this track randomly on Spotify yesterday after finding the Eno/Byrne track for yesterday's the day before yesterday's blip. One of the things I like about Spotify is the way you can browse around 'related' artists... anyway, I used to own this track on vinyl (probably still have it in the loft somewhere) but haven't heard it for many years. When I heard it last night it evoked incredibly strong memories for some reason - not of any particular place but of smells. Odd?

When I was younger I owned a WEM Copicat echo delay machine which, amongst other things, I used to use to try and copy Vini Reilly - not very successfully it has to be said.

The other thing I noticed when reading up on the My Life in the Bush of Ghosts album after blipping yesterday is that the whole thing was done pre-digital - it was all done using analog technology, presumably mainly using tape.

The album was recorded entirely with analogue technology, before the advent of digital sequencing and MIDI. The sampled voices were synchronized with the instrumental tracks via trial and error, a practice that was often frustrating, but which also produced several happy accidents.

Amazing. I remember spening a lot of time playing with homemade tape loops (based on hacked reel-to-reel tape recorders), the WEM Copicat and various other bits and bobs. It was a lot of fun... but definitely not an easy thing to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.