chaos

By Chaos

Noise

So, I know that digital cameras create noise in the image, right?

And, to create the maximum amount of noise, what do I do? Right, increase the ISO and shoot in dim light.

So, I wanted to know if the noise that is created by our digital cameras can have a useful purpose, like grain does, or did, in film imaging, to create a useful effect. Or is noise just static and interference in the image?

I really don't like the blotchy noise that you can sometimes see in color images in areas without much detail, like the sky. And some post-processing filters make the noise even more blotchy.

So I shot several images downtown Anchorage at dusk and early darkness with an ISO of 1600. I converted to monochrome and tried to noise things up as much as I could and try to create something other than ugly, tried to create a grain appearance instead of blotchy static.

I am not sure what I accomplished. So it is with experiments. What I learned is that I don't much like noise. I think what I like is an ISO of 100, a tripod, and timed exposures. (and lots of light, thanks G!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.