OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

A really beautiful spring day. I explored a new stretch of coastline, walking from the village of St Margaret's Hope to Sandwick, then past Mucklehouse and along the cliffs to Barth Head, which can be seen in the distance in the photograph. Lots of fulmars in the air, that's one in the middle.
As I walked by the cliff-edge at Tainga, I found a large black feather. I picked it up and an angry raven appeared overhead, croaking loudly. I offered him the feather, but he pretended it was not his, so I let the wind take it from my hand.
I stopped on the shore at Barswick for lunch, then went on to Barth Head. I saw my first puffins of the year on the water. On the way back I stopped and made coffee sitting on Weems Castle. It's a ruined broch, just a mound of grass, now, with a few stones visible. I disturbed some seals who were resting on rocks below the broch, but they just floated offshore, waiting to reclaim their rocks. I posted more photographs here. This one is from near Hune Bay.
Here's a favourite poem:

A thousand clouds among a myriad streams
And in their midst a person at his ease.
By day he wanders through the dark green hills,
At night goes home to sleep beneath the cliffs.
Swiftly the changing seasons pass him by,
Tranquil, undefiled, no earthly ties.
Such pleasures! - and on what do they rely?
On a quiet calm, like autumn river water.

- Han-Shan, 750
Translated by Peter Harris
Zen Poems

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.